Icon Category

Roles and Rights management on boards

Tabs

In this video, we introduce you to the roles and rights management and its specifics.

The video which shows you how to invite others to a board can be found here.

We also offer classes and a board where you can learn at your own speed. Find more information in the Conceptboard ILIAS course.

Any questions? Contact us! dw-support@tik.uni-stuttgart.de
Hello and welcome to a short tutorial.
In this video, we will explain the roles and rights management for individual boards in Conceptboard. 
We will explain which roles exist, which permissions these roles have, and what needs to be considered when roles are assigned.

(The roles and their functions)
There are four roles on a board: Owner, Editor, Reviewer, and Reader. Depending on the role, different drawing and insertion tools may be used on the board.
The owner and the editor have the same rights on the board. However, the owner of the board may restrict the management rights of the editor. There is only one owner of a board. 
The editor has full access to all functions of the board. He may use all functions of the toolbox and the insert menu. The editor can also change role and access permissions of other members on a board, depending on the settings.
The reviewer may use the sketch tool, the highlight tool, the comment tool, and the sticky notes on the board. He is also able to add own contents to the board via the "Datei hochladen" function and to add icons. Within a session, the reviewer can only edit and move own contents, but not contents that others created. After the logout or after the session ended, the reviewer is no longer able to modify previously created content.
The reader has only reading permissions and cannot modify or move content on the board. 

(Changing roles on the board)
You can change the roles of people that are on the board through clicking on their picture in the top right corner. Click on "Zugriffsrolle" and select the role you want to assign to that person. Only the owner can transfer the owner role to another person.
To get an overview of all participants and their roles, click on the blue "Teilen" button in the upper right corner and then on "Teilnehmer" in the pop-up window.
The role of each person can be seen next to them. In order to change a person´s access rights, click on the already assigned role and select the new role from the list afterwards.
It is also possible to change the roles of several participants simultaneously in the same way. To do so, activate "Mehrfachauswahl" with the slider. 
Put a check mark behind the persons whose roles you want to change. Then, click on "Options" and select the new role from the list. After that, click on "Übernehmen".
Both the owner and the editor are able to change the roles and the rights of other members by default. The owner may turn off the ""Bearbeiter können Einstellungen 
ändern und Teilnehmer verwalten" option in the access settings. 
Eventually, click on "Fertig" to confirm the changes.

(Assignment of roles and invitations)
When you invite other perons to your board, you simultaneously assign them a role. We have already shown in detail how to invite people to a board in another video.
What is important for the management of rights: There are two ways to invite others to the board: Firstly: By mail; 2. Through sending a link. These invitations have different implications depending on whether the invited person logs in with a university account or enters the board as a guest.
When you invite someone by mail, you can assign a role to someone to the right of the address field. However, this role will only be properly assigned to university members who log in with their university account. People who log in as a guest will receive the role that is assigned to the invitation via link even though they were invited by mail.
When inviting people via link, the default access role is "Editor". Click on "Ändern" to adjust the settings according to your needs. 
After that, click on the current role and select the new role from the list.
Click on "Fertig" to confirm the changes.

In case of any questions and problems, you can find our support addresses and links to further videos in the video description.